11 Chakras of Man – the Basic Chakra


Getting to the Root of Things

You may have heard about chakras but have you ever thought why we need chakras and what is their functions. The knowledge of chakras has been shown to man from long back as evidences show their appearance in old Indian scriptures and ancient books.

Chakras are whirling energy centers in the subtle body and are parts of the subtle body, which is also known as the energy body, bioplasmic body or aura. Chakras are the meeting points of the subtle energy channels. Life force or “prana” moves through these subtle channels. Various scriptural texts and teachings present a different number of chakras and often describe them in a symbolical manner. There are many chakras in the subtle human body. According to Master Choa Kok Sui’s Pranic Healing, there exist 11 major chakras in our system including:

1. Basic Chakra

2. Sex Chakra

3. Navel Chakra

4. Meng Mein Chakra

5. Spleen Chakra

6. Solar Plexus Chakra

7. Heart Chakra

8. Throat Chakra

9. Ajna Chakra

10. Forehead Chakra

11. Crown Chakra

“Chakras or whirling energy centers are very important parts of the energy body…Major chakras are just like power stations that supply life energy to major and vital organs.”

Master Choa Kok Sui

The chakras have several important functions – physical, emotional, mental and spiritual:

  1. They absorb and distribute prana or life energy to different parts of the body
  2. They are responsible for the proper functioning of the whole physical body and its different parts and organs
  3. Some chakras are centers of psychic faculties. Activation of certain chakras may result in the development of certain psychic faculties.

This series of articles aims at introducing the 11 major chakras and their functions, starting with the Basic chakra and ending with the Crown chakra.

After gaining a general knowledge about the chakras and their functions, let’s now discuss the Basic Chakra – its role in developing us, and what it is like in a developed person.

The Basic Chakra

Located at the base of the spine, the Basic Chakra has four petals and is a fiery orange-red in color. Symbolically, it is often represented by The Cross.

Interestingly, the color of this chakra has a similarity with the color of the prana or vitality stream that is flowing into it. Therefore, the Basic Chakra has predominantly orange and red prana flowing into it. It also has a minor amount of yellow color inside. Additionally, there is also dark purple prana flowing in from the spleen chakra. The spleen chakra  will be the subject of the future articles.

Once the orange-red prana enters the Basic Chakra, it starts flowing to the reproductive organs, enhancing the sexual nature. It also enters the blood and keeps up the heat of the body. Health wise, it is responsible for the healthy functioning of the skeletal system, sexual organs and the heart. Thus, it becomes evident that the Basic Chakra has a tremendous effect on the overall vitality and growth rate of a person. Materially this chakra is responsible for prosperity.

Basic Chakra 1

A remarkable effect is seen in the Basic Chakra of a person who controls his lower nature. By maintaining pure thoughts, words and actions, the orange life energy moves upwards through the spinal column and enters the brain. This improves the intellectual faculties and makes a person more intelligent and perceptive. Similarly, the dark red life energy changes to crimson, which stimulates affection. The dark violet energy transmutes into pale violet, which stimulates spirituality.

Therefore, the Basic Chakra has a transformative effect on a person who strives towards self-improvement, resulting in more intelligence, refined emotions and a greater spiritual nature.

Energy circulations in the Base of the Spine of a developed person is shown as below:

Basic Chakra 2


  1. Master Choa Kok Sui. (2000). Miracles through Pranic Healing. Institute for Inner Studies Publishing Foundation.
  2. Powell, A. E. (1987). The Etheric Double. Theosophical Publishing House.


  1. anjali September 16, 2014 Reply

    This article is very informative.

    • Neha October 13, 2014 Reply

      Thank you Anjali for reading and appreciating.Glad you liked it.

  2. Noshir D Governor September 17, 2014 Reply

    Great contributions reviving teaching of gmcks appreciated

    • Neha October 13, 2014 Reply

      Thank you Noshir D Governor.High praise there.Your appreciation is valued.

  3. N Aanandh October 7, 2014 Reply

    Atma Namaste , Very Informative …. Awaiting for next one .. thank you .

    • Neha October 13, 2014 Reply

      Atma Namaste Aanandh – thankyou for your valuable feedback -the other articles will be up soon.

  4. Hello Neha I want to contact you in Future for Detail Knowledge Regarding Pranic therapy along with Marama Therapy of Ayurved and Kundalani Jagarane Therapy among the Patient and Healthy Person Specially In reference To the Geriatric Health care in India as well as in Philippine

    • XxX December 11, 2017 Reply

      hey pal , Kundalini is not a game jus like that you cant inwoke. if you do so . its gonna impact your subtle body and there are even chances that you become terminally ill. so if you that much intrested kindly go and find a teacher and get in to knowledge appropriately

  5. Janani October 24, 2015 Reply

    Really fantastic!! Crisp & in depth knowledge!! Thanks for your sharing!

  6. Marcus Payne July 26, 2016 Reply

    I felt my chakras vibrating once. It was a very strange feeling. It was like they were spinning and pulsing at the same time, this only lasted for a second. I would like to know why are there so many differences in the number of chakras and their positions. I thought there were only 7 body chakras, plus higher chakras away from the physical bodies.

  7. Namit Shah December 27, 2016 Reply

    Very precise and very deep. Wonderful. Thank you for sharing. Any further such descriptions. God bless you!! Thank you Master.

  8. Parin N Parmar January 1, 2017 Reply

    Very informative and very well illustrated. Thank you respected Master and Neha…

  9. XxX December 11, 2017 Reply

    Dear Neha,

    Also can you debreif on major and minor chakras and its principles so it can more informative to others

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Pin It on Pinterest